You can barley tell that it’s tomato soup

not so pampered chef in 1992

Ryley got picked up early today so I have the pleasure of lounging around a bit before work, woo hoo! That posed a unique question – how do I make a good meal and still spend most of my time on the couch instead of in the kitchen? And the answer I came up with – SOUP!! I love soup in every form at any time so I actually got excited once I found the recipe I wanted. When I was in elementary school, the whole class had to bring in and prepare a recipe for our classmates, and I did a classic vegetable soup. It was a real treat when I found out a few months ago that my mom had kept the cookbook we put together in that class all these years! What a good mom to save all the cool things I did growing up!

soup's on!

When I flipped through the It’s Good For You cookbook that had the spring rolls recipe, I noticed a recipe for Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup. I absolutely love barley, and it’s got so many great nutritive qualities! It’s a good source of water-soluble dietary fiber, helps reduce blood cholesterol, sodium free and low in fat, and full of protein, B vitamins, and phosphorus. Roasted tomatoes are great on their own or can be used in place of canned tomatoes in soups and pasta sauces, plus they have tons of vitamins (like C, A, and B) and nutrients and good amounts of lycopene, which is a powerful antioxidant that helps prevent certain cancers and heart disease. I had a piece of chicken in the fridge that I needed to cook, and there were some new mushrooms I bought from this past Farmer’s Market that I wanted to use, so I decided to do a combination of the Pampered Chef recipe and my own from so long ago (or actually, just make up a whole new soup that had some of the same ingredients, haha).

core & more in a snap!

The great thing about the Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup is that it doesn’t have to sit in the crock pot all day because there isn’t anything that needs major softening like potatoes or crunchy veggies. Since I did throw in carrots, celery, raw mushrooms, and zucchini, I added extra water and left the pot simmering for an hour instead of just the 10 minutes. I usually use my crock pot for soups, but it’s nice when you don’t have to and it still tastes homemade (not that I have any problem with stocking my pantry full of $1.25 Campbells soups for lazy days). I also threw in some chicken, but I cooked it on the George Foreman, cut it into small pieces with my Kitchen Shears and threw it in

the kitchen smelled like tomato heaven

with the fresh herbs at the end. Since I was adding real chicken, I used a chicken stock I made from bouillon paste instead of beef broth. I’m sure the soup is tasty the original way as well, but you know me, I just can’t leave things alone! I like how it turned out with the chicken and all the other surprise veggies in it too. I always add a little worcestershire sauce and tabasco to my broth-based soups just for kicks (actually, I usually add tabasco to creamy soups too). Since I did it for the other unsearchable recipe, I’ll post the original soup just for you…

Roasted Tomato & Barley Soup

2 pounds plum tomatoes, cut in half and seeded (about 8-10 tomatoes)
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons snipped fresh basil leaves
3 cans (14 1/2 ounces each) 99% fat-free beef broth
1 1/2 cups tomato juice
2/3 cup quick-cooking barley, uncooked
2 garlic cloves, pressed
1 teaspoon Pantry Italian Seasoning Mix
1/2 teaspoon salt

1.Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Cut tomatoes in half lengthwise; remove seeds using Core & More. Place tomatoes and oil in Classic Batter Bowl; toss gently to coat.

2. Line Stoneware Bar Pan with 17-inch piece of Parchment Paper. Arrange tomatoes, cut side up, in single layer over bottom of pan; bake 45 minutes or until tomatoes start to shrivel. Remove from oven; cool slightly.

3.Remove skins from tomatoes; return tomatoes to batter bowl. Using Kitchen Shears, snip tomatoes into small pieces. Snip basil; set aside.

4. In 4 Qt. Covered Casserole (Executive or Stainless), combine tomatoes, broth, tomato juice, barley, garlic pressed with Garlic Press, seasoning mix and salt. Bring to a boil, reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes. Remove from heat; stir basil into soup just before serving.

Yield: 6 servings (8 cups)

Nutrients per serving (about 1 1/4 cups): Calories 160 (17% from fat), Total Fat 3g, Saturated Fat 0mg, Cholesterol 0mg, Carbohydrate 27g, Protein 9g, Sodium 540mg, Fiber 6g

Diabetic exchanges per serving (about 1 1/4 cups): 1 1/2 starch, 1 vegetable (1 1/2 carb)

copyright 2004 The Pampered Chef, Ltd.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

5 responses to “You can barley tell that it’s tomato soup”

  1. Raw Possibility says :

    Reblogged this on rawpossibility and commented:
    I love this idea of a homemade cook book. Complete with personified veggies and all.

  2. Anonymous says :

    I had the pleasure of eating some of this delicious soup tonight. Thanks, Heather! I served it with hot buttered corn bread (we southerners do like our corn bread) a caprese salad, a good glass of red wine topped off with one of Ryley’s delicious fresh baked Valentine cookies. A delicious meal indeed! I will definitely try this soup recipe. My husband loved it and asked for more..

    • thelovecatway says :

      so glad you enjoyed it!! the one you ate was my manipulation of the recipe. I went to the farmers market for the wild mushrooms, carrots, and zucchini, so I’ll meet you there on Sunday haha!

Say Something!

