Cindy Lou Who might be Irish too!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I know I’m late, but I was working quite hard serving every plate. Slinging corned beef, I slung and I slang, with cabbage and taters to give it a bang. With items of dress-up from small Ryley Who’s room, I attended to each table with a zip, zop, and zoom! No green beer or dyed bar food for those of us working, so a celebratory snack might be morale-perking. As the resident experimentificationer of food, I know the whole gang expects a concoction soooooo good! Of course dessert doused in coloring would be easy, but naturally-green food seemed slightly less cheesy. Green ingredients here and great flavors there, Pampered Chef had recipes simply everywhere! Through over a hundred I viewed and I scanned ’til I found it – t’was perfect – Artichoke Tapenade I planned. Lucky for You Who it’s in an old Season’s Best (and the 2011 book has been put to rest). Twice a year offered for only one dollar, these books full of favorites make fans hoot and holler! So I’ll type it here, my tasty new love, this super green topping sent from above.

My coworkers munched, they munched and they crunched. They giggled and sang while they spooned, dipped, and bunched. A tiny amount at last I had hid, for I feared there’d be nothing left but the lid. I raved and I boasted so all could hear, I spoke the ingredients loud and clear. So simple and quick, including crostini, with my Manual Food Processor I’m a food-pumping genie! A spritzing of oil, just enough, not too much! Then a Stone and the oven give the finishing touch. I pressed all my garlic to make it mix better, then scooped olives and capers with my green-item-getter. Trader Joe’s had no un-stuffed pitted olives on their shelf, so I opted to dig out the pimentos myself. I dumped and I pumped with giddy excitement, and hoped I could bring some St. Patty’s delight-ment. With bellies so full and spirits so high, I relished the joy that this snack had brought nigh.

So I’ll give you this recipe, no I won’t delay. I’ll share it right now, in this moment, today! I’m hoping you’ll try it (perhaps share with a friend). Thanks for reading, enjoy, have a good night… THE END!!!

 

Artichoke Tapenade

1 lemon
1 can (14 oz or 398 mL) artichoke hearts in water
1/4 cup (50 mL) loosely packed fresh parsley
1 garlic clove, peeled
1/2 cup (125 mL) pitted green olives
1 tbsp (15 mL) capers
5 tbsp (75 mL) olive oil
Toasted Baguette Slices (optional, see below recipe)

1. Zest lemon using Microplane Zester to measure 1/2 tsp (2 mL). Juice lemon using Citrus Press to measure 1 tbsp (15 mL) juice. Drain artichokes using small Stainless Mesh Colander; pat dry using paper towels.

2. Combine parsley, garlic, lemon zest, juice, artichokes, olives, capers and oil in Manual Food Processor. Cover and pump handle to process to desired consistency, removing lid and scraping down sides of bowl as necessary using Mini Mix ‘N Scraper. Serve with Toasted Baguette Slices, if desired.

Yield: 10 servings (about 2 cups/500 mL)
U.S. Nutrients per serving (about 3 tbsp/45 mL): Calories 90, Total Fat 8g, Saturated Fat 1g, Cholesterol 0mg, Carbohydrate 3g, Protein 1g, Sodium 280mg, Fiber 1g.

Toasted Baguette Slices

20 slices French bread, cut 1/4 in. (6mm) thick
2 tbsp (30 mL) olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 375 F (190 C). Place bread slices on Rectangle Stone; lightly brush bread slices with oil. Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Yield: 20 slices
U.S. Nutrients per serving (2 slices): Calories 210, Total Fat 4g, Saturated Fat .5g, Cholesterol 0mg, Carbohydrate 36g, Protein 8g, Sodium 420mg, Fiber 2g.

copyright 2011 The Pampered Chef, Ltd.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

2 responses to “Cindy Lou Who might be Irish too!”

  1. The Tree The Apple Didn't Fall Far From says :

    Your stories are all foody, and funny, and grand,
    Not a reader can say that any are bland.
    But I must speak my mind for the day of the Green.
    You’ve stirred and you’ve mixed, and confused me between:
    Dr. Patrick or St. Seuss, which one do you cheer?
    In a car, in a bar, or with green eggs and beer.
    I’m confused and befuddled and a quandry I’ve reached,
    A doctor who rhymed and a saint who has preached?
    You have mingled two men not at all like each other.
    But the fault is not yours: who I blame is your mother.
    She read you the stories of BOTH of these men,
    Now look what she’s done!!! (I’ll count slowly to ten.)
    But no matter how nuts you have grown up to be,
    You’ll always be loved by your mom and by me.

    I write this to you while I’m eating an orange.
    And now I can’t find any word that…

Say Something!

