I can’t think of a clever Thai-tle for this one

Jeremiah was supposed to have the night off, but he ended up working at the last minute. The bummer is that we missed out on quality time together… but the benefit was that I got to make my favorite soup of all time for dinner! When we go out for Thai food, the first thing I order before my Drunken Noodles is Tom Kha soup (red curry coconut soup with ginger, I love mine with chicken or shrimp). It turns out Jeremiah does not like soup with coconut in it. Fail. Luckily he’s not the boss of my food when he’s not home!

Ryley and I were shopping at Walmart the other day, and she asked what the big brown ball was in the produce aisle. I pointed out that it was a coconut, and she asked me to buy one so she could try it. Of course! I’m always happy to help Ryley try new things. Well, we cracked into it today and found that it was totally rotten. Note to self: after the filmy lunch meat and rotten coconut I’ve wasted this week, never ever buy fresh-ish food from Walmart again! Feeling discouraged at a missed opportunity, I went shopping for dinner ingredients at our local Fresh and Easy. Lo and behold, they had white coconuts!! I warned Ryley that they might be different, but we bought one anyway just to see what they were like. And… it was like a coconut! Not only that, but the brown one only dripped out about a half a cup of coconut milk, whereas this one gave me a whole TWO AND A HALF CUPS! More than enough for taste-testing and some sort of fun cooking.

I looked through the Pampered Chef database (of course) and so many different Thai dishes popped up. I was pumped. Even more so when I found out that a set of recipe cards I have called Soups, Stews, and Chilis included Thai Shrimp Bisque (also known in Heatherland as Tom Kha Goong!). As I always seem to say with these recipes, it was ridiculously easy AND delicious! Seriously, I’m excited and scared to know that I don’t have to go spend $8-10 on just a bowl of soup every time I have a craving for that coconut curry flavor I love so much! And apparently I love exclamation points in this post, too!!!

Beware of the pan heat level because the garlic burnt the second I threw it in and the fish oil boiled off immediately. I already had shrimp in the freezer, but they were pre-cooked and peeled so I simply waited until the last minute and threw them in just long enough to warm up. I also put the whole amount of fresh coconut milk into the soup and only half the can of coconut milk from the store for the color (I like lots of liquid in my soups anyway so I wanted it to have more than the recipe). The Pampered Chef Pantry has lots of great seasonings and I already had the Thai Red Curry Rub, so rather than buy red curry paste from the store I added a tiny bit of water to the seasoning… and then sprinkled more in for good measure. Since I wasn’t in the mood for rice and I already had some Thai Rice Noodles cooked in the fridge (that’s what happens when you ask a boyfriend to boil some noodles to have with the leftover bolognese pasta sauce, haha), I substituted the noodles and made a delicious noodley version of the soup. Quite frankly, I’d be perfectly happy eating the soup without either starch in it, but it was good to make the meal more substantial and filling as supposed to simply a starter dish. I got to enjoy my soup without Jeremiah making stink faces at it, and Ryley got to taste coconut milk and meat for the first time. Win win!

Here’s the fabulous recipe since you can’t buy the card set anymore, but you CAN order The Pampered Chef All New Soups, Stews, and Chilis cookbook which has 19 different recipes to warm your soul. 🙂 So go ahead, try out this soup and see how easy it is to make, even with one hand “Thai’d” behind your back. ขอให้เจริญอาหาร! (kŏr hâi jà-rern aa-hăan!)

AUTHOR’S NOTE: After I had completely finished this post, Jeremiah came home from work. Even though he poopoo’d at the mention of my soup he offered to taste it since I had made it with love, haha. He took his little spoonful and I asked if he would please swallow it politely instead of spitting it out at me. He did swallow it… and then grabbed a bowl from the cupboard and asked for more!! Allegedly my/PC’s version was much better than the one we had at the Thai restaurant down the street. He wanted to give it even more kick so I suggested Sriracha chili sauce instead of his usual Tabasco (seemed more fitting for the flavors), and he absolutely loved the soup. I’ve made a coconut curry soup believer out of him!

Thai Shrimp Bisque


3 cups hot cooked rice
1 pound uncooked shell-on medium shrimp
2 large plum tomatoes
1/4 cup sliced green onions
1 1/2 inch piece peeled fresh gingerroot, finely chopped
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
2 garlic cloves, pressed
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 tablespoon sugar
3 tablespoons Thai fish sauce
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon Thai red curry paste
1 can (14-14 1/2 oz) chicken broth
1 can (14 oz) lite coconut milk
2 tablespoons snipped cilantro

1. Prepare rice according to package directions, keep warm. Peel and devein shrimp; remove tails and set aside. Cut tomatoes in half crosswise; remove seeds using Core & More. Dice tomatoes and slice green onions using Color Coated Tomato Knife; set tomatoes aside. Peel gingerroot; finely chop using Food Chopper.

2. Heat oil in 10″ Covered Skillet over medium heat. Add onions, gingerroot and garlic pressed with Garlic Press; cook and stir 2 minutes. Stir in cornstarch, sugar, fish sauce, tomato paste and curry paste. Gradually add broth and coconut milk; bring to a boil. Add tomatoes and shrimp. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, 3-4 minutes or just until shrimp turns pink and is cooked through. Remove from heat.

3. Ladle soup into bowls using Nylon Ladle; top with hot cooked rice and snipped cilantro.

Yield: 4 servings (6 cups)

LIGHT. Nutrients per serving: (1 1/2 cups): Calories 410, Total Fat 11g, Saturated Fat 6g, Cholesterol 170mg, Carbohydrate 46g, Protein 30g, Sodium 1130mg, Fiber less than 1g. Diabetic exchanges per serving (1 1/2 cups): 3 starch, 3 low-fat meat (3 carb)

PC Tip: Thai fish sauce (nam pla) and Thai red curry paste are characteristic of this Asian cuisine. Both ingredients are available in Asian specialty markets or in the ethnic food section of many supermarkets.

copyright 2004 The Pampered Chef, Ltd.

**Some discontinued tools used in recipe were changed to comparable currently offered items.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

Say Something!

