Abracadabasil, Pesto Change-o

I asked my readers to suggest ingredients they would like to see in my blog, so the next few posts are for you! A friend asked for pesto, of which i have never been a huge fan. However, I DO love fresh food, and basil is even more delicious freshly picked. I want so badly to have my own herb garden but it’s not exactly a good idea at this point in time. Jeremiah makes fun of me because I’ve killed at least 4 or 5 (very likely more) basil plants in the past year. I have no idea why it’s so hard for me to keep them alive! Oddly enough, there is one organic basil plant I bought from the Farmers Market, and it has been strong enough to withstand even my brown thumb.

I’ve always loved Caprese salads. When I found the Pampered Chef recipe for Crostini Caprese, it sounded like the perfect way to enjoy a fresh pesto. I had to buy a second plant because pesto requires so much basil. I used the Classic Basil Pesto recipe (found in The Pampered Chef Quick & Easy Recipes for Your Manual Food Processor – $6.50), and found that I actually like the chunkier version that comes from processing by hand! If you don’t have the versatile and simple Manual Food Processor yet, get it! Until then, I’m sure a blender will suffice. The Crostinis were light and flavorful, and I’ll definitely use these as an appetizer in the future!

Then alacazam! I took the other half of the pesto and mixed it into a main course. I modified a recipe for Turkey Pesto Ravioli and made a fabulous fresh pasta dish! It’s posted down below since you can only find the recipe in past Season’s Best cookbooks. Now that I’m on this homemade pasta kick, I thought I’d give the ravioli attachment a try. Rather than wrap the mixture in wontons, I made more dough and cut cute little ravioli instead. Some ended up empty or less than full because I didn’t chop the turkey pieces small enough, but it was fun for my first attempt. Next time, I still won’t use wontons (it seems like cheating haha), but perhaps I’ll shape my own ravioli so they are large enough to fit more of the deliciousness inside.

It seems like both pesto dishes were a success, and now I’m not so scared of the green goop that basil can become!

Turkey & Pesto Ravioli with Fresh Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:
6 oz (175 g) 93% lean ground turkey
1 1/2 cups (375 mL) loosely packed fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup (125 mL) loosely packed fresh parsley
5 garlic cloves, peeled, divided
3 shallots, divided
1 1/2 cups (375 mL) plus 2 tbsp (30 mL) unsalted chicken stock, divided
1/2 oz (15 mL) Parmesan cheese, grated
1/4 cup (50 mL) mascarpone cheese, divided
1/2 tsp (2 mL) coarsely ground black pepper, divided
24 round wonton wrappers
1/2 cup (125 mL) dry white wine such as Sauvignon Blanc
2 cups (500 mL) grape tomatoes
2 tsp (10 mL) sugar
Shave Parmesan cheese and thinly sliced fresh basil leaves for garnish (optional)

1. For ravioli, place turkey in Classic Batter Bowl; microwave, uncovered, on HIGH 3-4 minutes or until no longer pink. Break up turkey using Mix ‘N Chop. Drain well and return to batter bowl. Place basil, parsley, two of the garlic cloves, one of the shallots and 2 tbsp (30 mL) of the stock in Manual Food Processor; cover and pump handle until finely chopped. Add herb mixture, Parmesan cheese, 2 tbsp (30 mL) of the mascarpone cheese and 1/4 tsp (1 mL) of the black pepper to turkey; mix well.

2. Place 12 wonton wrappers on flat side of Large Grooved Cutting Board. Using level Medium Scoop, scoop turkey mixture onto centers of wrappers; lightly brush edges with water. Place remaining wrappers over filling, pressing around filling. Using rounded edge of (2 1/2-in./6-cm) Biscuit Cutter, press around filling to seal firmly.

3. Finely chop remaining shallots using Food Chopper. Spray (12-in./30-cm) Skillet with olive oil using Kitchen Spritzer. Add remaining shallots and remaining garlic pressed with Garlic Press; cook and stir over medium heat 60-90 seconds or until fragrant. Stir in wine; cook 1 minute. Add remaining 1 1/2 cups (375 mL) stock, tomatoes and sugar; cook, covered, 3-4 minutes or until tomatoes begin to burst. Crush tomatoes with Mix ‘N Chop. Stir in remaining mascarpone and black pepper. Add ravioli to skillet; cook, covered, 3-4 minutes or until tender, gently swirling Skillet to coat ravioli with sauce. Garnish with additional Parmesan and basil, if desired. Serve immediately.

Yield: 4 servings

Nutrients per serving: (3 ravioli with sauce): Calories 350, Total Fat 11g, Saturated Fat 5g, Cholesterol 50mg, Sodium 440mg, Carbohydrate 39g, Fiber 2g, Protein 19g

Cook’s Tips: Use the Vegetable Peeler to shave Parmesan cheese.

Copyright 2012 The Pampered Chef used under license.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

4 responses to “Abracadabasil, Pesto Change-o”

  1. Mars says :

    Whoah just had lunch in this side of the world but reading your post made me hungry 😐 Definitely looks delicious!

  2. mdrouse5 says :

    Looks great Heather! I love that your writing demonstrates your fun sense of humor! X

    • thelovecatway says :

      thank you! I miss getting to hang out with you, but I’m glad we can connect and share our lives at least in the virtual world! come back and make yourself at home… er, at blog… anytime! 😉

Say Something!

