Don’t you cedar meal? Well, it’s right there on the grill!

I’m trying to get back on track with my semi-diet, but I still want interesting and delicious meals to keep from burning out on green juice and healthy snacks. When I was doing well last year, I lost 20 of the total 60 pounds that I need to release, so I want to pick up where I left off and get rid of the rest. I wanted a real meal the other night, but something simple because I am pretty tired when I come home from work. We still had some cedar papers from when we barbecued that amazing halibut last year, so I knew anything I wrapped in them would probably be fantastic.

Jeremiah surprised me with a great looking piece of salmon (I’m so easy to please, haha), so I cut it into perfectly sized fillets, and opted for a recipe I happened to find on one of the flaps of the cedar paper package. To avoid making an extra trip to the store I substituted button mushrooms for the shiitakes, and for a slightly less salty meal I used low sodium soy sauce, and it was still just as delicious. We did end up throwing the wraps back on the grill for a few more minutes than the recipe says, but if I had sashimi grade salmon (or at least slightly better than grocery store fish), I probably would have been ok with eating it medium rare. My guess is that since the cedar wrap acts like a fabulous little wood steamer, the extra moisture in the veggies made it take just a bit longer than it would with just a piece of fish.

I used my Fine Microplane Adjustable Grater to add fresh ginger to the marinade, the Julienne Peeler to slice the carrots into little strips, and popped the mushrooms into the Egg Slicer Plus for quick and simple slices. The meal was literally prepped in 5 minutes, so we were happily eating about 20 minutes after the ingredients came out of the fridge. Even better that it was absolutely delicious! I had considered making some sort of baked or roasted potatoes, or even white or brown rice (which would have made more sense anyway), but decided not to after all (to skip the carbs). We were actually completely content with the fullness of the meal without a starch, so I saved myself a good amount of calories without sacrificing my satisfaction. Since I am trying so hard to behave, feeling full is the key to avoiding useless munching and snacking once the meal is over.

These handy cedar papers can be found in probably any grocery store near the seafood counter, and believe me, we will definitely be buying them again. I can’t wait to try scallops or shrimp in them! Here’s the recipe I found on the package, so even if you use a plank or foil or whatever, you can enjoy the awesome dinner as well…

Asian Salmon with Vegetables
(serves 4)

2 tablespoons soy sauce, divided
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 teaspoon grated ginger root
1 carrot, cut into thin 6-inch strips
2 scallions, cut into thin 6-inch strips
3/4 cup sliced shiitake mushrooms
4 – 6 or 8 oz. salmon fillets
4 Fire and Flavor Cedar Papers, soaked

FIRST Combine 1 tablespoon soy sauce, oil, and ginger in zip top plastic bag. Add salmon and toss to coat. Marinate 10 minutes at room temperature. In a small bowl, toss carrots, scallions and mushroom slices with remaining soy sauce.

wrap ginger-ly

wrap ginger-ly

NEXT Preheat grill or grill pan to medium heat (about 400 degrees). Remove salmon from marinade and season each fillet with salt and pepper. Place one fillet in center of each paper and top with equal amount of vegetables. Fold edges of paper over the fillets and secure with butcher’s twine.

load it up!

load it up!

LAST Place packets on grill and cook for 4-5 minutes per side, depending on thickness of fish. Remove from grill using tongs and serve.

cedar no evil, taste no evil

cedar no evil, taste no evil

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

Say Something!

