You say potato, I say potahto, let’s call the whole thing soup

It’s finally raining!! I understand that we live in the desert, but even we need a good cleansing rain once in awhile. Although most of the neighborhood has been complaining lately, I have to admit I’ve been loving the cooler weather and actually getting a chance to wear my coats and hats this winter. Plus, it’s only in the 50’s and 60’s, so honestly these pansies need to toughen up a little. 😉

In honor of our puddle-jumping weather (and my half day off), I decided it was the perfect opportunity to enjoy a nice cup of hot tea and make a great soup. I love soup, and even more so when I’m curled up under a blanket, listening to the soothing sound of the rain outside. I made mashed potatoes the other day because we had a bag of russets getting ready to give up, so I looked for a recipe I remembered seeing in an old healthy cookbook from The Pampered Chef. I found Smashed Potato Soup in the It’s Good For You cookbook (we no longer carry it, but there are some awesome new health-themed books available now). Amazing how each serving of a creamy potato soup is only 180 calories!

The recipe actually calls for refrigerated mashed potatoes, but as you probably know by now, I love starting from as close to scratch as possible. It worked out nicely that not only was I not wasting our leftovers, but since I am trying to eat fairly carefully in order to lose more weight, the mashed potatoes I made were already much better for us than any pre-packaged or restaurant versions out there. I add only a little butter (better for you than margarine believe it or not), some low fat milk, a good amount of fresh cracked Multi-Color Peppercorns, and the smallest amount of fresh cracked Sea and Himalayan Salt. Even in the soup recipe, I used about half the amount of [fat-free] sour cream, and just cracked the salt once instead of putting the whole amount in. We like our mashes with the skins still on (especially red potatoes), but once I started mixing the ingredients in the pot, there just seemed to be way to many huge pieces of skin floating around. I actually grabbed a fork and started pulling out the potato skins, burning my fingers just a little more with each piece as the soup started to boil. Whether it got too hot and I threw in the towel or decided some skins would give the soup character, you’ll never know…

I bought some fresh baked bread – a Jalapeno Cheddar Boat – from the farmer’s market this weekend, and it was still soft, so I merely warmed up a few slices (we don’t like crispy bread) and served them with the soup. I put all the garnishes I could think of on top (shredded cheddar cheese, snipped green onions, a dollop of fat-free sour cream, and chopped bacon), and then added a bunch of tabasco to mine, but Jeremiah liked his just the way it was. Spicy or not, the soup was absolutely delicious! Thank goodness I doubled the recipe. 🙂 Also incredibly filling. After about a cup and a half, I was totally satisfied. I will very likely make extra mashed potatoes every time from now on, JUST so I can also make this soup. YUM!! Whether it’s snowing, raining, or simply a bit cloudy… give this soup a try, I hope you love it as much as we did!

Smashed Potato Soup

1/2 cup coarsely chopped carrot
1/2 cup coarsely chopped celery
1 package (1 pound, 4 ounces) refrigerated mashed potatoes
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) 99% fat-free chicken broth
1/2 cup fat-free milk
1 garlic clove, pressed
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
2 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley

Optional toppings: sliced green onions,
reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese and
crisply cooked, crumbled turkey bacon

1. Coarsely chop carrot and celery using Food Chopper. Place mashed potatoes in Medium (3-qt.) Saucepan. Gradually add broth and milk, whisking until mixture is smooth using Nylon Spiral Whisk. Stir in carrot, celery, garlic pressed with Garlic Press, salt and black pepper. Bring to a boil; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes.

2. Remove from heat; stir in sour cream and parsley. Ladle soup into bowls; top with desired toppings.

Yield: 4 servings (about 5 cups)

Nutrients per serving (about 1 1/4 cups): Calories 180 (29% from fat), Total Fat 6g, Saturated Fat 2.5g, Cholesterol 20mg, Carbohydrate 27g, Protein 6g, Sodium 850mg, Fiber 3g

Diabetic exchanges per serving (about 1 1/4 cups): 2 starch, 1/2 fat (2 carb)

Cook’s Tips

1. Refrigerated mashed potatoes can be found in the refrigerated dairy case in most supermarkets. You can also substitute 3 cups leftover mashed potatoes for the refrigerated mashed potatoes.
2. Mashed potatoes made with instant mashed potatoes can be substituted for refrigerated mashed potatoes. Prepare 6 servings (about 3 cups) according to package directions for reduced-fat mashed potatoes.
3. Our cookware accessories such as the Nylon Masher and Nylon Spiral Whisk are designed to complement our cookware pieces. They won’t scratch the surface of nonstick cookware and are heat-safe up to 428 degrees.

copyright 2004 The Pampered Chef, Ltd. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

2 responses to “You say potato, I say potahto, let’s call the whole thing soup”

  1. throve says :

    I never knew that they made packets of mashed potato for the refridgerator. They don’t sell them here in New Zealand. Instant mashed potatoes, yes but not the other kind. I completely agree about cooking from scratch. Potatoes are bought raw by the kilo here. You could add milk to the leftovers the next day and eat it cold, vichyssoise! It’s raining here too. A welcome change from all the sun.

    • thelovecatway says :

      I’ve never been a fan of what I call “lazy food” at the stores like pre-made mashed potatoes (even potato buds are better…worst case). I’ll have to try it leftover-style like yours, and I will definitely make this soup again! Thanks for visiting!

Say Something!

