You ceviche, I say cocktail

I love all things shrimp. Seriously, never met a shrimp I didn’t like. I also love sushi, Mexican food, and anything you can serve me in a martini or margarita glass (like martinis and margaritas…). I found a great recipe that combined all of the above in a perfectly refreshing summery way. Ceviche-Style Shrimp Cocktail is in our Cooking for two & more cookbook that has so many delicious ideas for cooking in smaller quantities.

it's a shrimp, it's a cocktail...

it’s a shrimp, it’s a cocktail…

We had all the ingredients leftover from making salsa a few days prior, so I thought it would be fun to try something different with our tomatoes and cilantro this time. I seeded and diced two tomatoes and snipped the cilantro, then added a chopped cucumber, 1/4 of an onion, jalapeños, 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice and a crack or two of salt. I stirred in a pound of boiled and diced jumbo shrimp and let the whole mixture sit in the fridge for an hour. The cookbook says not to prepare much more than an hour in advance to avoid the shrimp becoming tough and rubbery from the acidic lime juice.

no, it's not salsa

no, it’s not salsa

When we were ready to eat dinner, I mixed it up again to redistribute the lime juice, and then gently folded in a diced avocado. It was simple and quick to prepare, and such a great appetizer. We even had a little fun and threw the ceviche into a set of light up martini glasses I had earned doing a vodka spokesmodel promo many moons ago. Grabbed a bag of those delicious thick tortilla chips (like the kind you find in a random hole in the wall Mexican restaurant) and whipped up some tasty Micheladas (think bloody mary, but with beer instead of vodka) to wash it all down. I can definitely say this was a fun way to try something new with common ingredients, and I’m still a happy passenger on the shrimp train, er, boat!

great start to a great meal

great start to a great meal

P.S. I feel like I’ve posted about how I boiled the fresh shrimp to make a traditional shrimp cocktail before, but can’t seem to find it. I’m either A. crazy, B. blind, C. confusing WordPress with a Facebook pic/post, D. all of the above. My vote is D, but if you find a shrimp cocktail post feel free to point and laugh, and then let me know.

doing it myself!

doing it myself!

P.P.S. In case I actually haven’t… this is the recipe I used from the Food Network to cook absolutely amazing shrimp and perfectly kickin’ cocktail sauce to dip them in: Shrimp Cocktail Recipe. I contained the fresh sprigs of herbs in my Herb Infuser to give enough flavor without covering my shrimp in a leafy mess. If you’re not feeling the Mexican ceviche thing, try this combo out instead and you will not be disappointed!

literally the best I've ever had

literally the best I’ve ever had

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About thelovecatway

My blog says it all. Go back, go back!!

Say Something!